Book by phone: +1 (877) 484-8680

Red Squirrel Pines

Guest Rating:

Sleeps 7, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

101 Pines Drive 7 Pines Drive Canaan Valley, WV 26260 United States

Ever heard of luxury camping? Here it is! Well perhaps super deluxe awesome luxury camping!! Welcome to Red Squirrel Pines! This lovely cabin is conveniently located just off WV Rt. 32/Appalachian Highway in The Pines Community at Beaver Ridge. It is a short drive to the artsy community of Thomas and an even shorter drive to the food and fun in the tiny town of Davis. Hikers and hunters will love the easy access to the Monongahela National Forest. Mountain bikers will delight in the super easy access to world-class trails. Gravel grinding roads abound for long rides through the pines. Bike wash station available except in winter. Winter visitors will love the cozy fireplace and the short drive to the slopes at Canaan Resort and the trails at White Grass. Family meals will be easy and fun with the well-equipped kitchen and open floor plan. Enjoy the friendly atmosphere and beautiful starry nights Canaan Valley offers while lodged in a cozy mountain neighborhood. Red Squirrel Pines offers Roku for movies, news outlets, sports, and sitcoms as well as a large selection of DVDs. Packing a great book is highly recommended or explore the wide range of books already there! Winter visitors should plan on 4 or all-wheel drive vehicles for safe access.

VIRTUAL TOUR

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type Cabin / Bungalow, 2 story
Unit Code 101PD
Beds 1 king bed, 1 queen bed, 1 twin bed, 1 bunk bed
Bathrooms 2 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 7, 1 loft
Pets No pets allowed.
Standard Amenities combination tub/shower, king, queen, twin/ single, autumn foliage, forests, waterfalls, Satellite / Cable, Television, Clothes Dryer, Fireplace, Heating, Internet, Linens Provided, Living Room, Parking, Towels Provided, Washing Machine, Wifi, Free Wifi, Coffee Maker, Dishes & Utensils, Dishwasher, Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, Dining Table, Kitchen Island, antiquing, bird watching, eco tourism, horseback riding, scenic drives, walking, ATM/bank, groceries, medical services, Deck / Patio, Outdoor Grill, Hot Tub, fishing, fly fishing, golf, hiking, hunting, ice skating, mountain biking, mountain climbing, paragliding, rafting, skiing, swimming, whitewater rafting, children welcome, non smoking only, pets not allowed, wheelchair inaccessible, Minimum Age Limit for Renters, flexible, necessary, Guests provide their own meals, Dining Area, Clean with disinfectant
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Dishwasher
Living No A/C, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Jacuzzi Tub, Wood Burning Fireplace, WIFI, Non Smoking Property
Outdoor Deck, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, 4 Wheel Drive Required in Winter, Close to Fishing, Close to Bike Trails, Cornhole Game, Close to Blackwater Falls
Geographic Wooded, Close to Skiing, Hiking
Entertainment CD Player, Roku
Average Manager Rating (Based on 3899 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 23 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
91 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Relaxing Getaway

    Stayed 4 days ending in November, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jennifer O from Manahawkin, NJ recommends this vacation rental

    We chose the area to visit at a friend's recommendation for a relaxing getaway for my husband and me. Canaan Valley is a quiet area with hiking, beautiful scenery and other seasonal activities. The house was nice and clean, and we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub. The cabin had plenty of sleeping arrangements though we did not use them as it was just the two of us, but the main bed was big and comfortable. The house was a little close to the highway for my personal taste and the living area could have used more seating and a more comfortable couch. It was difficult to both sit and watch TV at night and if you had a family with you there was not additional seating.

    • Manager Responded on 11/17/2022

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of Red Squirrel Pines. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return!

  •  
  • Red squirrel

    Stayed 6 days ending in September, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Eaton Rapids , MI does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Overall was an alright experience. Very close to other homes and busy road noise. Very tight quarters with parking and getting in/out of driveway. Washed out soil on both sides, one wrong turn your vehicle is in a ditch. Home was clean except the dog poop at the front entrance onto the porch in which one of us stepped in as we were unloading our luggage.

    • Manager Responded on 10/26/2022

      Thank you so much for staying with us at Red Squirrel Pines. We are disappointed that your stay was not the typical 5-star experience. We have reviewed the listing and we can assure you that there was no intention to deceive. We just could not have anticipated a guest would be needing space for 2 full size trucks and a trailer with each. When you called after arrival and inquired about additional parking we were happy to offer parking at our management offices but it sounds like you made do. In the future, please feel free to reach out to us again directly at Best of Canaan so we can identify a rental that suits your parking needs. Your comment about the road being washed out on both sides greatly concerned the homeowners. This is the first such comment in many years or rental. They have come from out of state to inspect the road and they have found it in good order. It is a gravel road with a surface suitable for most cars except in the winter. We advise all-wheel drive for our winter guests. The poop, well, sorry about that. Red Squirrel Pines is a pet free house but we cannot control wild life or pets of others in the area. This was also a first for us. We hope those issues fade and the memory of a very nice house, hot tub, and location are what you are left with. We’d love to have you back!

  •  
  • Wonderful mountain getaway

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Erin T from Round Hill, VA recommends this vacation rental

    Our family of six had an amazing time in this cabin. Fully stocked, clean, cozy with comfortable beds. We really enjoyed the hot tub on the back deck, even on the day it rained. From the hot tub, we watched a family of ground hogs living under a tree stump come up to play. Very private and nestled in the trees but right off the main road. We’d definitely stay again!

    • Manager Responded on 6/1/2022

      Thank you for your review of Red Squirrel Pines. We hope to have you back soon!

  •  
  • great time

    Stayed 5 days ending in May, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Judy R C from centerport, Pennsylvania recommends this vacation rental

    cabin was clean,really nice cabin hot tub was nice to come back to after being out all day,kitchen was well stocked

    • Manager Responded on 6/7/2022

      Thank you for your review of Red Squirrel Pines. We hope to have you back soon!

  •  
  • Great place

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Adam C from WAYNE, West Virginia recommends this vacation rental

    Nice place

    • Manager Responded on 5/29/2022

      Thank you for your review.

  •  
  • Highly Recommend!

    Stayed 3 days ending in April, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Victoria W from Noblesville, IN recommends this vacation rental

    Very nice and very well taken care of place!

    • Manager Responded on 4/29/2022

      Thank you for your review. We hope to have you back soon!

  •  
  • The Pines in February

    Stayed 3 days ending in February, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Harpers Ferry, WV recommends this vacation rental

    Another terrific stay at Red Squirrel Pines. Beautiful, cozy, and clean cabin, with a fireplace and plenty of firewood, well-equipped kitchen, and back porch hot tub. Convenient to wintertime activities at Blackwater Falls and Canaan Valley Resort, and dining and provisions at nearby Davis

    • Manager Responded on 3/10/2022

      Thank you for taking the time to review Red Squirrel Pines! We love that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back soon!

  •  
  • Clean and Cozy in Canaan

    Stayed 4 days ending in January, 2022

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jacquelyn L from Mclean, Virginia recommends this vacation rental

    I have been coming to this cabin for years because I know when I get to this cabin that I won't be thinking about dirt or grime, the hot tub is clean, and the kitchen furnishings are sufficient to cook great meals. They even have a salad spinner! We were lucky enough to have 12 inches of snow while we were here, which made for great skiing and hot tubbing. It is so nice to get back from hiking, biking, or skiing and be able to get a fire going, enjoy some whiskey, and a good meal. If you cannot enjoy the true unconnected cabin experience, there is wifi and cable. We brought our own fire stick so we could binge watch Ted Lasso while we were snowed in!

  •  
  • Nice winter cabin

    Stayed 10 days ending in December, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jeanne F from Toronto, ON recommends this vacation rental


    Clean and lots of linens and towels. Lots of privacy away from neighboring cabins. Enjoyed the hottub and lots of space with one main floor bedroom and lots of room upstairs. Easy drive to town and groceries about 10 min away.

  •  
  • Nice stay but smaller than it looks.

    Stayed 3 days ending in November, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Dawne B from Cumberland, MD recommends this vacation rental

    Place was clean but much smaller than we thought. Hot tub was wonderful, bed were comfortable. Only one roll of paper towels and 6 logs for the fireplace for 4 days 3 nights. Communication was awful! I messaged a few times and no response.

    • Manager Responded on 11/29/2021

      Hi Dawne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do apologize for the lack of communication. That is not a normal complaint for us. I hope you tried contacting Best of Canaan directly because if you try to contact us through VRBO it does not come through (still trying to work with them to get that fixed). Next time please give us a call at our office number, we would have been happy to order you a load of firewood. Thanks again and hope to have you back!

  •  
  • Great cabin!

    Stayed 3 days ending in November, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mark S from Alexandria, VA recommends this vacation rental

    We have stayed in several cabins, but this was the best. Perfect layout, well-stocked and nicely decorated, very comfortable beds. Loved the deck and hot tub. A little too close to the road (got some traffic noise) but overall a great place to stay and we will return for a future visit.

    • Manager Responded on 11/23/2021

      Hi Mark, Thank you for your great review of Red Squirrel Pines. We can't wait to have you back!

  •  
  • Perfect

    Stayed 4 days ending in October, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Barry O from Hector, New York recommends this vacation rental

    Perfect location for us. it is near the main road but we knew that after mapping it. it does have a nice sense of privacy, clean, hot tub was very clean. Wood was not seasoned and damp; but we made due. I would rent it again.

    • Manager Responded on 11/2/2021

      Hi Barry, Thank you for your review of Red Squirrel. Hope to have you back soon!

  •  
  • Away

    Stayed 4 days ending in September, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Bloomsburg , PA recommends this vacation rental

    Overall good

    • Manager Responded on 10/14/2021

      Thank you for your review on Red Squirrel Pines. We hope you will come back!

  •  
  • Wonderful Getaway

    Stayed 4 days ending in June, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    David B from North Chesterfield, VA recommends this vacation rental

    My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Red Squirrel cabin. Th location is great. It is situated in the woods and provides easy access to the National Forest as well as the towns of Davis and Thomas. The rental company was easy to work with and helpful. Upon arrival we found the place to be clean, neat, and tastefully decorated. The kitchen had everything we needed to make great meals. The appliances are modern and in good working order. All of the beds and furniture are in good condition and very comfortable. The hot tub was a great way to relax after a long day of hiking. We recommend this rental.

    • Manager Responded on 7/12/2021

      Hi David, Thank you for your great review of Red Squirrel Pine. We love that you enjoyed the house and we hope to have you back soon!

  •  
  • The Pines in June

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Harpers Ferry, WV recommends this vacation rental

    Great location, near Canaan Valley and Blackwater Falls trails. Nice cabin, smart layout, well-maintained, and well-provisioned. Helpful and clear instructions for appliances and safety rules for using the hot tub and fireplace (summertime, so no need for a fire). The hot tub was a huge favorite with the kids. Looking forward to a return visit in winter!

    • Manager Responded on 7/12/2021

      Hi Jill! We can't wait to have you back! Winter time in Canaan Valley is a must. See you then!

  •  
  • Great Little Cabin

    Stayed 5 days ending in February, 2021

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Laura K from Raleigh , NC recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great experience, the cabin fit my family of 5 (3 small kids) perfect. It was close to everything we were interested in checking out. It had everything you needed but was not excessive which is what we were looking for. Even though it is in proximity to the main road, we never noticed road noise or worried about the kids playing outside.

    • Manager Responded on 3/29/2021

      Hi Laura, Thank you for taking the time to review Red Squirrel Pines. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your time here. Please come back and see us again!

  •  
  • Clean and charmmy wood cabin

    Stayed 4 days ending in October, 2020

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Gaithersburg, Md recommends this vacation rental

    Red Squirrel Pines is a clean and cozy Wood cabin, nicely decorated. It make you feel like a home but vacation spirit can be sensed in the air everywhere, truly a home away from home! Perfectly located for the outdoors. The hot tub was a huge plus after a daylong hike. All staff contacted from the property managing company were courteous and responsive. Well done!

    • Manager Responded on 11/23/2020

      Thank you for the detailed and positive feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed the cabin, the brand-new hot tub, and the great outdoors of Canaan. We hope it’s not too long before we see you again!

  •  
  • Beautiful cabin

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2020

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    sheri r from greensburg, PA recommends this vacation rental

    This cabin was very nice, clean, private and relaxing. The hot tub was very nice addition. Beds were comfortable and the kitchen was stopped with essentials as far as cooking utensils etc.

    One disappointment was there wasn't a fire pit. I'm not sure why but it would have been nice to have one. Also the Wi-Fi only worked between 9:00 p.m. and 9:00 a.m. for some reason? This wouldn't be a big deal but I had work to get done the first day and I couldn't do it till after 9:00 p.m.

    It's on a lane with a few other cabins but the way it is situated it is very private. We enjoyed our stay here very much

    • Manager Responded on 8/3/2020

      We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon. We did not hear from you regarding the Wifi outage. This is a very new issue and the owners have now been notified. We're sorry for any inconvenience. Feel free to reach out to us with any issues you have during your stays.

  •  
  • Red Squirrel Pines Cabin

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2020

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Linda S from CENTREVILLE, VA recommends this vacation rental

    This cabin was perfect for our weekend away. We spent most of our time at the cabin on the front and back porches, as the weather was perfect! Beds were comfy and you could fit an 8th person, as there is a pullout mattress under the bunk bed. The hot tub was great and enjoyed by all. While it is close to the road, the road noise was never an issue for us. One thing to note is there is no AC, luckily, it is shaded in the pines and has lots of big windows to let the cool mountain air in, so we wouldn't have needed the AC anyways!

  •  
  • Nice Place for Small group

    Stayed 3 days ending in January, 2020

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    NEVIN S from Hephzibah, GA recommends this vacation rental

    This was a very nice cabin. Some of the other reviews I read complained about road noise. This is not an issue at all. Cabin was very clean and had plenty of amenities. There were really only 3 issues, none of them major. 1) Cabin was very cold when we arrived. Thermostats were all set at 50 degrees or lower. 2) Hot tub was not functional but the management company responded when I called and after 2 visits from maintenance they got it going late on the second day of our visit. 3) The living room is quite small with only 1 couch and 1 hard rocking chair. They have beds to sleep 7 guests but there's not enough room or furniture to accommodate that many people if you are just wanting to sit around and visit, read or watch TV.

    • Manager Responded on 1/12/2020

      Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on your stay at Red Squirrel Pines. We hope your group had a great time in beautiful Canaan Valley. Please come back and see us!

  •  
  • Perfect place for vacation

    Stayed 3 days ending in January, 2020

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Chicago, IL recommends this vacation rental

    It has everything you want and some. Hot tub was such a hit. Both adults and loved the place. Location is perfect being in between Davis and skiing area. Overall highly recommended.

    • Manager Responded on 1/3/2020

      Thank you for your review of Red Squirrel! So happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and see us!

  •  
  • Family adventure weekend

    Stayed 3 days ending in November, 2019

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest recommends this vacation rental

    Great long weekend in Davis at Red Squirrel Pines. Came up with our two kids and nanny and everyone enjoyed it. The cabin is well appointed for cooking and hanging out for our family. Comfy beds, cooked on the grill, spent a lot of time in the hot tub. Hiked right from the cabin up to Canaan Loop Rd - lots of fun with our kids. Good privacy in the bedrooms and the woods wrap around the cabin nicely.

    • Manager Responded on 1/3/2020

      Thank you for such a great review on Red Squirrel Pines! We are so glad you and your family had a great time. Please come back and see us here at Best of Canaan!

  •  
  • Ups and Downs

    Stayed 4 days ending in September, 2019

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Steve H from Galloway, OH does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Cabin was ok but lack of television which would have been helpful on a football weekend and during rain. Also, its proximity to the highway was very noisy. Also, the rental company was minimally helpful

    • Manager Responded on 9/20/2019

      Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts. We surely hope that while you were here in beautiful Canaan Valley you took some time to get out and about to enjoy the beautiful scenery and visit the unique shops, restaurants and breweries our area offers. Red Squirrel Pines provides quick and easy access to Davis and Blackwater Falls, Thomas and the Purple Fiddle, Canaan Valley and Dolly Sods. We would love another opportunity to help you find the perfect Canaan Valley vacation home. Be sure to look for Best of Canaan on the web!

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
39.086121,-79.448521

Best of Canaan 5546 Appalachian Highway Davis, WV 26260 +1 (877) 484-8680 info@bestofcanaan.com

© 1999 - 2022 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon